Museum “Estate of P.P. Chistyakov” in Pushkin was opened in 1987 as a department of the Scientific-Research Museum of the Russian Academy of Arts and helps us get acquainted with the creative and teaching activities of an outstanding artist which was a favorite teacher of the most prominent masters of the Russian art on the border of the 19th-20th centuries.
A wooden two-floor building with a spacious studio was built in Tsarskoye Selo in 1876 by design of the architect A.Kh.Kolb with participation of the owner of the house. A century afterwards the house was restored and the original image and planning were also restored. Carved wooden decoration in the Russian style makes the dacha of the Professor memorable and elegant.
This is a unique monument of the wooden architecture of the last thirty years of the 19th century. Interiors are also decorated with carved wooden panels which together with the restored interior of living and dining rooms create a unique image of the dacha where P.P. Chistyakov (1832 – 1919) lived and created for 40 years of his life.
From the framed family portraits the inhabitants of the dacha look at us. Traditions of lively evenings animated with the voices of artists, musicians, scientists and writers still exist. An old piano gathers fans of chamber concerts and literature and music soirees in a big living room.
Such a soiree with visiting the studio, seeing original woks of Chistyakov and his students, showing a movie about the house of the artist and teacher can be provided by the Museum for groups up to 30 persons.
Address of the museum:
23, Moskovskoye shosse, 196600 Pushkin, Saint Petersburg
Telephone: +7 (812) 451-70-85
The Museum is open Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays, working hours 10:00 - 17:00.
Chief of the department – Androkhanova Vera Olegovna.
The information of exhibitions is in menu-item EXHIBITIONS.